Current Projects




Coming Soon to Kickstarter

Plane is a wholesome solo journaling game where, in a world of endless possibilities, you are a humble teleporter operator. 

As an Interdimensional Teleporter Operator employed by AstroFusion Express, you record the stories of those who step through your shimmering portal and traverse the planes. Each handwritten report becomes a thread connecting lives, destinies, and the ever-shifting fabric of reality.

Plane includes:

  • A character creation guide
  • 10 premade characters
  • 3 game modes
  • 195 prompts
  • 20 possible endings
  • 2 printable forms
  • A guide to writing great reports
  • 50+ beautiful full-color pages
Available soon in premium hardcover, softcover, and PDF


We're all going to hell Anyway...

Some of the most used words in heavy metal lyrics also appear in evangelical sermons. These eleven Bingo cards contain the same 25 words, with each grid being randomized. Play alone or with friends! All you need is a card (or three), one evangelical sermon, and a whole lot of booze.

1.21 Jiggawhat?

You are an amateur time traveler. You worked so hard to build your own rig, fabricating the parts, attempting to translate the assembly instructions, and monitoring various vulnerabilities in the space-time continuum to determine the most opportune time to take your maiden voyage. Despite all your planning, you managed to get stuck—in 1986.


Darkness Blooms

Edited by Alin Walker & Monica Louzon
Cover by Yorgos Cotronis

Publication Date: May 1st, 2023

Contributors: A. Katherine Black, Derrick Boden, Timothy Burkhardt, P.A. Cornell, Kitty-Lydia Dye, Alicia Hilton, A.P. Howell, Andrea Kriz, Nathaniel Lee, Gordon Linzner, Rodrigo Assis Mesquita, Andrew Milne, Marshall J. Moore, Josh Rountree, Denise Tanaka, Rebecca E. Treasure, and Brian Trent.

Mixtape: 1986

Edited by Alin Walker & Monica Louzon
Cover by Luis Carlos Barragán

Publication Date: March 5th, 2022

Contributors: Jonathan Duckworth, Eli Jones, Ali Seay, Edith Lockwood, Andrew Punzo, Amanda Cecelia Lang, Shenoa Carroll-Bradd, Keily Blair, Chris DeStefano, Caleb Stephens, Brent Larson, Christopher O’Halloran, Mark Towse, Christi Nogle, P.A. Cornell, and Jason Burnham.


Support Indie Publishing.
Make new Friends.
Join a cult.

There’s no Silicon Valley giant or venture capital lifeline here. The Dread Machine is a fiercely independent entity, fueled by the power of community and the love of written art.

Indie publishers like us are the lifeblood of the literary ecosystem. We push boundaries, take risks, and bring voices to the fore that might otherwise remain unheard.

Help us keep the gears of our grand enterprise turning. By choosing to support us, you’re becoming part of a movement, a revolution, a reimagining of what literature can be in the digital age. Join us and become indie scum, you dirty disco superstar.

Together, we can create a future that's as vibrant, diverse, and thought-provoking as the stories we love to share.

What's the password?

Login to your account

Stay informed